Childhood Nostalgia: Oh, How I Miss Thou

Back in the days when I was a young’un, I wanted to grow up as fast as I could. How incredibly naïve of me. And by saying this out loud, my parents get the immense satisfaction of proclaiming “I told you so”. They were right, oh boy, they were right. When I was seven years old, I was obsessed with the film ‘Titanic’titanic. I remember this especially because when I was seven, I found it was amazing that Rose, the main character, was seventeen. Seven. Seventeen. Get it? I was almost distraught when I was told that Jack and Rose’s love story was mere fiction, for until I was seven I believed that films were events that actually happened in real life. Rose’s story was the fuel to my desire to grow up as fast as I could. The idea of growing up, falling in love with a certain Leonardo DiCaprio and travelling across the Atlantic on a romantically named ship was perfect. Of course the drama of the ship sinking (following my safe rescue) made it all the more exciting. Unfortunately now that seventeen has come and passed me by, adulthood has been extremely anti climatic. If seven year old me saw current me now, lying on my bed lazily typing on a laptop, she would scold me and tell me to get up and party. But I don’t have the energy for that!

As a child, I saw an infinite amount of problems with life. 1) My bedtime was 8 o’clock (Except on Monday nights when I was allowed stay up until half 8 to watch Malcolm in the Middle even though my brother and malcolmitmsister had to go to bed. Ha. Ha. Ha.) 2) Dinners were my worst enemies (Potatoes were my kryptonite and noodles were saviour). 3) Learning joined-on writing was the biggest load of balderdash ever to come onto the face of the earth (but it was required of me if I wanted a Pen Licence which would enable me to write in BIRO- exciting right?). And of course there’s numerous other issues that I could shamelessly bore you with but I will allow your brain cells a little bit more time before they begin to degrade. When I thought of adulthood, to me it meant freedom, choosing my bedtimes, eating whatever I wanted, going out every weekend and the likes. What a disappointment, eh? Instead, my body never lets me stay awake past 11 pm on a normal night, my housemates are used to me leaving the sitting room around half ten to retire to my slumber chamber. I eat what I want, but what I want usually leaves me hungry just an hour or so later so I’m required to get a more filling, healthier option. And writing in biro is a lot messier than pencil anyway.

I have to say that, as you may have noticed, I am quite nostalgic. I adore looking back at old photographs of days spent at beaches, exploring the surrounding fields and birthday parties. The thrill of finding something new and exciting is getting less and less frequent in my wise, old age. Which is why I’m hoping that this new college life is going to reintroduce some of that excitement and motivate me once more! Living in the City is new for me so as I move on through the next couple of months I’m sure that new experiences and delightful happenings will reignite the nostalgia of my youth! Here’s to First Year!

disneyqo

Let’s hope so, Walt.

Leave a Reply

